Preview & Publish Templates
The Enhanced Template Editor features an updated workflow for saving, previewing, and publishing your templates. This update introduces the Draft and Unpublished Changes states for templates, designed to ensure only fully validated templates are deployed to live document generation workflows.
Publishing and Updating Templates
A template will not become active for end-user document generation until it is explicitly published.
Initial Publishing
Once your initial template design is complete, click Publish. The indicator in the Status tab will change to Published, making the template immediately available for document generation.
Making Changes to Active Templates
If you modify a template that is already active, your new changes will save automatically as an unpublished draft.
The document generation engine will continue to use the previously published version of the template.
To push your new updates live, you must click Update Template to make any changes active for generation. This action replaces the previous active version and changes the status tab indicator back to a Published icon.
Understanding Template Statuses
When you create or modify a template in the Enhanced Template Editor, your progress is saved automatically. However, the template will alternate between three core lifecycle statuses:

The template contains unpublished changes and is not yet active for use in generation workflows.

A published template undergoing maintenance or edits.
Document generation workflows will continue to use the previously published version of the template until newly made edits are published.

The template is active, finalized, and ready for live document generation.
Previewing a template
To ensure your template renders correctly before making it live, you can use the built-in preview functionality to resolve merge fields using a live record. Merge fields within the editor are fully declarative and can be easily rearranged using drag-and-drop actions.

To preview a template:
Click the down arrow icon located on the right side of the Preview button.
Select a record from the list (Search functionality included for quick navigation).
Click the preview action to launch the document in a new lightning tab and review the template with merge field data resolved.
Last updated
Was this helpful?

